Hadoop Architecture

Hadoop has two major components:
– the distributed filesystem component, the main example of which is the Hadoop
Distributed File System, though other file systems are supported.

– the MapReduce component, which is a framework for performing calculations on
the data in the distributed file system.


HDFS was based on a paper Google published about their Google File System,

Hadoop’s MapReduce is inspired by a paper Google published on the MapReduce
A MapReduce program consists of two types of transformations that can be applied
to data any number of times – a map transformation and a reduce transformation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s